SEMI Hockey held its 2017 Annual General Meeting on November 15 at the South Surrey Rotary Fieldhouse. A big thank you to all who attended and participated.

Attendees were updated on many of the accomplishments of our members, teams, volunteers, coaches, and programs that took place over the 2016-17 season. Executive Director, Dave Newson, shared some of the association’s programming goals heading into the next year, as well as shared some information on the direction that minor hockey is moving in the Lower Mainland and how SEMI is positioned for the changing landscape of minor sports.

Official business was taken care of the members voted on and approved the appointment of our Solicitor, Norton Rose Fulbright, as well as our auditor Masuch and Mellios.

Treasurer Andrew Grieve provided a summary of our audited statements, and highlighted where we are positioned financially moving forward into the next season.

To conclude the evening, the elections were held to fill expiring executive positions. The following members were appointed by acclamation:


President (2 year term) Andrew Grieve

Risk Manager (2 year term) Maurizio Dattilo

VP Admin (1 year term) Scott Ackerman

VP Hockey (2 year term) Todd Hilditch

Director – C Hockey (2 year term) Martin Freidel

Director – Communications (2 year term) Mark Burgin

Director – Education (2 year term) Sean Peach

Director – Capital Planning (2 year term) Jared Harman

Secretary (2 year term) Jim Barron


Welcome to the new members of the SEMI Hockey board, and a big thank you to the members whose term will be expiring at the end of this season.