2022 Scholarship Recipients Announced

On June 14, 2022, seven players received Semiahmoo Ravens Hockey Graduating Player Scholarships valued at $500 each. Congratulations to the following recipients:

  • Jake Chuback – Bachelor of Arts, University of British Columbia (Okanagan)
  • Maxence Dautemer – Engineering, Simon Fraser University
  • Tyler Gosal – Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto
  • Elvis Lowapongpan – Ivey Business School, Western University
  • Will Jenkins – Gustafson School of Business, University of Victoria
  • Ethan Olive – Social Sciences, University of Toronto (will be playing for the U of T Varsity Blues Football team)
  • Jack Severs – Bachelor of Business Administration, Simon Fraser University

Each season, one recipient is also chosen for the Jack Waterfield Memorial Scholarship valued at $1,000.

Jack Waterfield dedicated his time and energy to youth hockey in our community. For over 50 years, he performed all manner of duties and helpful activities in the community, be it, opening the rink at odd hours, helping players, coaches, parents, fans (and even referees) communicate with each other, or leading team hockey expeditions to Sweden and other locales. His own son and his grandsons participated in the local hockey programs for many years; a major part of the reason he contributed. However, beyond that, Jack saw the opportunity that hockey provided to young people and the benefits it gave the community.

He loved the game itself, but he also believed that young people could learn and build character through sport. The experiences they gained would help them in the future, help them pursue education, become better citizens, and overall lead happier, healthier lives. The Jack Waterfield Memorial Scholarship was set up by his family to continue to help Semiahmoo Ravens Hockey participants. Recipients of the scholarship are those players who demonstrate character, community citizenship, a passion for hockey, and an interest in pursuing secondary education of any type, including trade school, college, or university.


The 2022 Jack Waterfield Memorial Scholarship recipient is Jake Chuback.


Congratulations to all recipients and best of luck in your future endeavors!

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.